I will never forget the moment I realized I loved you.

I find myself always enchanted by poetry.

I am always so fascinated by a person that can write down ten words at most, and explain all the thoughts that I may have, but cant put into words exactly, or the right way.

Sometimes when you can relate to words on a paper, or on a computer screen, you feel a little safer. A little less alone. I know I can sometimes get caught up in my own emotions or feelings, and not sit to think that millions of other people are going through the same thing.

Or, on the other side of things; on the beautiful side of things, poetry is way for you to say “I love you” or “thank you” or “I am thinking of you”. Poetry is so many different feelings crumbled up into a couple lines. Maybe some of those lines rhyme, maybe not, but those lines are works of art.

I have always had trouble putting my feelings into words, or down onto paper. Sometimes I find that I say the wrong thing way too often and the right thing basically never. But I like to relate. I like to relate to the things I read, or the things I hear, to help myself better understand what it is I need to say. Maybe its not much. Maybe all I need to say is an “I love you” or a “thank you”.

because i could watch you for a single minute                                                               and find a thousand things that I love about you

                                                               (cm)

19 words. nineteen words. a boat load of emotions.

or how about this.

the way i see it, I will either love you forever, or I will forget all about you                           both possibilities are equally terrifying.

Again, a few words that say it all. A book written within two short lines. So many different feelings pour out with the help of these two short poems, and just like that, serve as an explanation for how you feel.

It is a language all in itself, because truthfully, its about the writer. It relies on the writers emotions or feelings entirely. Everyone can do it. It may be easier for some to make their emotions into a type of art, but we all have the back ground to be great at it, because we all have those emotions.

In all honestly, poetry is not a thing of beauty. It is a thing of experience. Experiences of love, heart break, ugliness, hatred, sorrow, despair. What poetry does with all these experiences, good or bad, is that it romanticizes it in a way. So that when we read the experiences of someone who has had their heart broken, we read it in a way that its beautiful.

So I’ll leave you with something beautiful

the truth about                                                                                                                      romance is                                                                                                                                  this: We are                                                                                                                    all novels; our pages stained                                                                                          of either our lovers,                                                                                                      

 or our loneliness 

Just remember to write it down. Sometimes its better that way.

Leave a Reply

