Saying Goodbye

1479019_10152214667473982_1066314128_n

A year ago yesterday my Uncle passed away.

Let me rephrase that. A year ago yesterday my Uncle was unexpectedly taken from us. Before the blink of an eye, he was gone. He wasn’t physically there, and to be quite honest, it isn’t fair. It wasn’t then, and it isn’t now. But thats how it happens. People are taken from their loved ones every single day, and they have to cope with it.

For a while there, I didn’t really think it was real. That a week before he was joking around with me over text about my “recent new boyfriend” and how no boy could ever be good for his niece. A week before, he was fine. He was there. He was happy.

We were happy.

How could something like this happen. We didn’t deserve it. Nobody ever deserves that kind of sadness.

Death is an inevitable part of everybody’s life, and there really is no way around it. Having said that, nobody should ever have to be ready for death, and nobody should ever be ready to say goodbye to somebody that they love so much.

The day that I learned that my Uncle was rushed to the ER, I thought that everything would turn out okay. Like my Uncles usual antics, he probably fell off a ladder, or accidentally shot himself on his foot.

I didn’t think that I wouldn’t have a chance to say goodbye. I didn’t know that I had to prepare myself to see him, because he was in such bad shape.  He was hooked up to so many tubes. It wasn’t my Uncle that was laying in that bed.

My Uncle was already gone.

For some of you that may know my Uncle, he was a little on the wild side. Of basically everything. He had a ponytail down most of his back, fake teeth, and a rainbow colored house. He loved playing jokes on people, and he hated being the center of attention.

He never took care of himself. Never.

My Uncle was alone, for three days before he was found in his house. I cannot even imagine what was going through his mind. I still play it all back in my mind, and it makes me so sad.

Like I said, my Uncle was known for his jokes he played on people. But boy, did people love him. Those couple days where he was in the hospital, people came and people went, but every person that entered that room had a story to tell.

Each person carried a memory of my Uncle with them, and for that, I am so thankful. That a man as wacky as him made an impression.

I sit here writing this post, tears in my eyes, and I laugh. My Uncle would hate to see me cry. So much so that he would probably bonk me upside the head and tell me to “Cool it”.

My Uncle was an amazing human being and he will always be remembered for that. Saying goodbye is not an easy thing, never will be. But I am glad that my Uncles spirit remains the topic of so many conversations that remain.

One thought on “Saying Goodbye

Leave a Reply

