DIY HOLIDAY GIFTS

d121bbcfb4d960a488a849da58c2795f

 With Christmas right around the corner, many of you are probably scrambling around trying to find the perfect last minute gifts for your loved ones. You are on the internet, looking at the hottest deals, or running through the mall trying to find the right sizes. It gets very hectic around this time, especially when you feel the pressure of trying to find the most wonderful gift for those who have helped you to have a wonderful year. It makes sense. But why must the most incredible gifts be the most expensive?

I understand that many people do not have one artistic bone in their bodies. I am one of those people. I recently took up a ceramics class for my last semester of college, and while I do enjoy making bowls and cups, and cute little tea cups, I struggle a lot. I worked my butt off to get a good grade in the class, but my bowls always seemed to have a little TOO MUCH personality, if you know what I mean.

I made a total of five bowls, a teacup, and a abstract box. I brought the bowls home with me and my mother said that they would make wonderful gifts. I wasn’t even thinking about turning them into gifts, but it is such a wonderful idea. I worked my butt off to make those bowls and teacups as beautiful as I could make them. I worked at the wheel for hours until I finally liked one. It took up a lot of my time, but I really enjoyed it, and why not share with others what I enjoy (even if I may be terrible at it)?.

Now, I am not saying go buy a wheel or take a new pottery class, but Do IT Yourself gifts are really the best. Make a photo album, candles, jewelry. Knit some scarves. Bake some cookies. And maybe if you decide to do it, your bank accounts will not hurt as much 😉

For great ideas, check out Pinterest. It has many creative and loving ways to put a smile on your families faces!

…and if all else fails, buy something from Bare and Me;)

Happy Holidays Everyone!

Leave a Reply

