Funny Injuries!

14feed35879d9c8cc745f5f2e618177a

When I was a little girl I was always envious of the gymnasts who could do back walkover’s, handstands, and perfect one handed cart wheel’s. I had a bunch of friends, who from a young age were really flexible and had awesome upper body strength, so they were very talented at what they did.

I would always try to mimic what they were doing. Obviously I was not as good as them..I looked like a fish out of water any time I tried to do a cart wheel.

A couple days before my thirteenth birthday I was at my little brothers baseball game with a couple of my friends who were all gymnasts. They had just perfected the perfect one handed cartwheel and I was determined to do it just like them.

The first couple of tries I hardly put in the effort necessary to really get the cartwheel right. I asked one of the girls to show me a couple times more before I really attempted to do the cartwheel.

My turn came to show them what I could do and WHAM! Down I went.

As I was in the  motion of the cartwheel I realized that my shoulder popped and I went right down. Aside from the astonishing embarrassment, I felt a horrible pain in my right shoulder.

I didn’t want to tell anybody how awful it felt because I was too embarrassed about the fall and making a fool of myself in front of all my friends. I waited the rest of the game, and when I finally got into the car with my parents I YELPED! I knew that something was wrong with my arm and that it needed to be checked out.

The next day we went to the doctor and it turned out that I broke my collar bone. The bone twisted and then splintered because of all the pressure on my shoulder during the cartwheel. It was a pretty bad break and we considered surgery, but decided against it because we didn’t think it was necessary.

Two days after that  it was my birthday party and it was at cosmic bowling. I was so excited because it was the first boy-girl birthday party that I was allowed to have, and everyone RSVPd yes! Well….It turned out that my right arm, the side that I broke my collar bone, was the arm that I used to bowl.

I am awful at bowling as it is, so when I learned that I would have to be bowling with my left hand, I was full of discomfort. I thought my birthday was going to be so boring and nobody would have a good time.

Boy was I wrong. It was one of my favorite birthdays ever, and I learned that I was actually pretty good, almost better, at bowling with my left hand!

Of course the injury was awful, and the healing process was very long and frustrating. Now I know not that gymnastics is not my thing, and I should definitely stick to my day job.

No moral of the story in this, I just like to share stories from the past. I always like to share that story because I look back at laugh at myself for being so embarrassed and not telling anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

