Flashback Friday!

34d9a1d7a885e4fbd6b96eee8c0d5c5e

Today when I woke up I turned on the TV and saw that The Wizard of Oz was on!

When I was a little girl this was my favorite movie. I would dress up like Dorothy any chance I got. I loved the movie because of the theatrical singing as it went on. “Somewhere Over The Rainbow” was my all time favorite song and I would sing it throughout my house, like I was a part of the movie. One talent show back in elementary school I got dressed up like Dorothy, with my basket with Toto in it, went out on stage and sang my little heart out.

My parents told me that there wasn’t a dry eye in the place, and that I stole the show. I obviously knew that wasn’t the truth but it was nice to feel like a star for the night. People would come up and ask for my autograph and I just thought I was the coolest thing.

I had Wizard of OZ everything. Notebooks, shoes, wallets, clothes. I was a fanatic. I still, at age 21, go into my old journal and read about how much I wanted to be Dorothy. That movie will always remind me of what childhood was like for me. Days like today I wish I could go back and be that little superstar again, living with no cares in the world.

If only there were a yellow brick road in good ole’ Wilkes Barre!

Leave a Reply

