Out of the Darkness

photo-15

Today I had the pleasure of participating in an “Out of the Darkness” walk near my college. One of my close friends, Morgan, lost her brother to suicide, and she put together a team to help raise money and awareness for it.

Suicide claimed 39, 518 lives in 2011 in the United States alone. Someone dies by suicide every 13.3 minutes.

last pic

By participating in walks such as the Out of the Darkness walk, you are joining efforts with people nationwide in hopes to raise money for AFSP’s research and education programs to prevent suicide and save lives.

Not only do these walks help people to spread awareness about depression and suicide, but it helps to comfort those who have been impacted.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention  is a non-profit agency that works to prevent suicide all over.

Their mission statement reads: 

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP), which began in 1987, is the leading national not-for-profit organization exclusively dedicated to understanding and preventing suicide through research, education and advocacy, and to reaching out to people with mental disorders and those impacted by suicide. 

To fully achieve their mission, AFSP raises money to fund scientific research, provide educational programs, educate the public, and promote policies that impact suicide and prevention. When I arrived to the walk with my friend, I was not surprised to see how many people showed up for Morgan and her family. Morgan participated in a lot of different groups throughout Wilkes, but she is also loved by many. Lots of her friends showed up to support the cause. Not only that, but many of Morgans brothers friends showed up. You could tell that so many people loved him.

photo-11

As I walked through the crowd, I felt so much love from everyone. So many stories were shared, and I could tell that Morgan’s brother was really something special. I know that I didn’t directly know him, but he must have been pretty wonderful.

photo-13

I woke up today concerned that the weather was not going to be so great, and that people would be bundled up for this walk. I put on my layers and prepared myself for the cold. But as I walked over to the pavilion where the sign up table was, the sun came out! It turned into a really beautiful day, and I thank Morgan’s brother for that.

I learned a lot from today. Not only did I learn about the organization, but I learned how much Morgan’s family loves one another, as well as those around them. I continue to keep them in my thoughts each day.

I hope that you guys can take some time to donate to AFSP in hopes that research and prevention can grow.

photo-14

 http://www.afsp.org/ways-to-give/make-a-donation

Leave a Reply

