20th Act of Kindness

d417dac0562a3b52f4c2c67103c8c726

 Today, while I was on my way home from my annual appointment at the dermatologist with my mom, we decided to indulge ourselves with some McDonalds snack wraps, fries, and cokes. I was seriously craving some salty fries today. So bad, but so good. Don’t judge me… 

Anyway, as we were stuffing our faces at a red light, we noticed a young boy, probably 20, standing on the median, with a sign for an animal rescue shelter that was raising money and awareness. Being the animal lover that I am, I quickly went into my wallet and pulled out a couple bucks for the kid. He ran up to the car and gave us a quick lowdown of the foundation he was a part of, and then we got to talking about our animals that we rescued. 

My cat, Taz, was found on the streets of Baltimore as a kitten. When he was found, his face was covered in duck tape. Apparently some young boys tried to suffocate Taz by wrapping his face. You can tell that the tape was on for a long time because his whiskers are all bent and crooked. 

The thing that makes me so sad is that these kids were probably able to do this to him very easily because he is so trusting. He will jump into anybodies lap, roll over, and fall asleep. Its just how he is…I do not understand how people can be so cruel to such beautiful animals. 

Taz is this crazy cat, with a bunch of energy. We lost our other cat “Orange Kitty” (don’t laugh at his name, we love it) a couple years because to cancer and it really took us a while to want another cat. My family, like any other, gets super attached to their animals, and when we lose them, its like losing a member of the family. Taz has definitely been a blessing in disguise because he is so rambunctious and wild, but so sweet at the same time. We had such a hard time figuring out what his name would be, because we couldn’t all agree on something that perfectly fit his personality. Finally, we picked “Taz” which is short for Tasmanian Devil”. 

Any who, let me get back on track here…. So the kid was rambling on and on about the foundation and as he was talking I noticed the other, young boy, standing behind him, holding a sign stating that he was homeless and needed money.

This sign was different though. 

He said he needed some money so he could buy himself a suit. A suit for an interview. You see, he didn’t want people to just hand him money. He wanted to be able to be successful on his own, he just needed a little push. I quickly grabbed some money out of my purse, again, and yelled for him to come over! He was surprised, I am sure, because it took me so long to notice him. 

This kid seemed determined to better his living conditions, so I was determined to help. I know that I only gave him a couple dollars, but maybe it was the push necessary to get him in the right direction. 

A little can most definitely go a long way.

Ps. Here is a picture of Taz and me!

photo-7

 

Leave a Reply

