BAT CAVE to the Service… Exceptional.

From beginning to end, the best trip ever…

Capella Pedregal in Cabo San Lucas is just one of the most beautiful and jaw-dropping places I have ever travelled to. We arrived in Cabo a little tired because I wanted to use my points on Virgin America to fly. Hey, it is free. If I can fly free or stay for free I’m going to do it or so I thought. We set out from Washington DC, flew to San Francisco and then hopped a jet to Cabo. All in all, a 10-hour trip, longer than a flight to Europe. Maybe next time I will pay to get there a little faster. Washington, DC to Houston to Cabo, 4 hours big difference and you don’t have to fly clear across the Country to get there.

We arrived at SJD Cabos Mexico International Airport late afternoon, went to our rental car company and set off for Capella Pedregal. I have to say, it was my first time going to Mexico and I was a little nervous being American in a foreign Country especially with all of the warnings traveling there. We drove through a very poor part of town and as David was driving I was looking and wondering what the hell are we doing?  It was really depressed, children running in the streets and very different from our world. That was my first impression, which was just ignorant. I am a certifiable idiot on so many levels.

We finally after a 45-minute drive down the coast arrive at Capella and you have to go through a huge gate that leads to a mountain and yes, the entrance is a bat cave. I felt like “batgirl”!  You know when you drive through a mountain to get to your hotel you are in for a treat. I just did not know how much of a treat.

photo-1Entrance to Capella

Unknown-2

The “Batcave”

I can see the light and hear the rumblings of our tires as my thoughts are saying I am hungry, tired and just want to rest at this point. It is so bright and all I can see is this circular drive way with a man standing in his cute “Mexican mariachi outfit” holding a tray with some drinks on it. He opens the car door and says, “Hola, Mr. and Mrs. Calkins and immediately I think, how does this man know who we are? What the heck, I felt famous or just very important for a moment. But then I remembered, they asked us for our name when we arrived at the dramatic gate entrance.

He offered us a margarita as we started to walk down this outdoor veranda to the check in desk.

Unknown-3

IMG_1605

We walked up this beautiful stately entrance to a beyond believable scene of magnificent beauty, I thought I was in a post card. A sweet girl came us to us with a warm welcome and said she was our “personal concierge” for our stay. We walked and talked for about 20 minutes, by the end, she had our dinner reservations, spa treatments and activities planned for our stay.

Whoa, we are famous… This is the type of treatment for movies stars, really famous people, not us. All I can say is they make every single person who walks or drives through these gates feel very important. In fact, I did not want to leave.

She then walked us to our room up small hills and stairs that lead to our own suite, terrace and pool. Yes, I said pool overlooking the vast beautiful ocean that will just captivate you the moment you let your eyes settle. Quite honestly, you cannot move you are so stunned at the beauty of this place.

IMG_1531

IMG_1535

Unknown-5

Unknown-4

Unknown-6

Just to be able to experience this level of service, beauty beyond belief and just rest and relax after such a long day of travel was heaven, just heaven. Now, sleep.

WE woke up refreshed and ready to go. Run, Breakfast and then the pool. I thought on our second day they would forget about us. They had shown us the royal treatment the day before, they had done their job. We were happy. Before we left for our run, ring ring. It was our girl, the one who greeted us. She wanted to know how our sleep was and if she could do anything, anything at all to make our stay better. This was the first of many daily calls she would make, just to make sure we did not need a thing.

IMG_1502

IMG_1493

Unknown-7

images-8

One thing I will warn all of you is, you absolutely cannot swim in this ocean or walk near it. It is a pool only kind of place. I have never in my life seen the power of waves as I did here. It has something to do with the current on that side of the land. Of course, I asked and they told us that the undertow is so bad that the beach is always shut down for swimming. In fact, a man drives around on a four-wheeler to make sure you do not even get near the water. Now, that is danger but of course I don’t listen. I want to run near the water. My husband is screaming at me to stay away, next thing I know the water took me down. The guy is driving up on the four-wheeler fast and I feel and look like a fool, just because I never listen. Uh, I would say listen. Do not be rebellious like me you literally may die.

I guess these kids did not get the memo but I sat behind them for an hour while telling them, do not even think about it. I made them promise me they would not go in. I think they thought I was a stalker. But I was so worried that I could not help myself. A Mother is always a Mother even if they are not your children.

IMG_1503

IMG_1518

The start to our afternoon with sinful guacamole and this wonderful banana oh so delicious beverage. It was so delicious I had two. I am not really a drinker, so the whole time I was afraid to get up for fear I might fall on someone, in the pool or just make a fool out of myself. I was a little lit to say the least. But we sure did have a wonderful, relaxing day.

IMG_1380

The restaurants at this resort our so good you really do not have to leave. Our final night came and we had reserved a table at El Farall an elegant outdoor restaurant tucked at the edge of a cliff. They have a fresh catch menu, every type of steak cut you can imagine and al a Carte sides. You pick your own cut of meat, fish or other delectable’s at the outdoor kitchen where everything is cooked to order. While you are eating dinner, the waves crash along the stone sea wall and yes, you may get some sprinkles, which was fine by me. I could have sat at that table all night staring at the velvety black sky with the shimmering of a million stars overhead. It was the end of a beautiful, magnificent vacation of a lifetime.

Pedregal_El_Farallon_to_Resort_01WEB

IMG_1422

I do have to say, I did get sick of everyone tending to my every wish.  You do not think you would but you do. I loved this place so much my husband and I are giving this as a honeymoon gift to our daughter Jessica who will be getting married in September of 2015. The perfect honeymoon spot. You can not go wrong.

And, as far as my smart a lek comment in the beginning about this being a depressed environment, these are the sweetest most genuine people I have ever met. Walking through these towns and just being part of this world was a great experience and one I will never forget.

Pedregal Capella

Leave a Reply

