13th Random Act of Kindness

e0b8533046d8197dab8551785af65c96Today we decided to change things up a bit, and give you guys some ideas on how to make someones day.

Now these are not some well thought out extravagant ideas.. These are everyday things and are very easy to do.

Simple hello’s and how are you’s are a perfect example of a simple way to make someone’s day just a little better. You may not realize this, but the little things are what really stick out to people.

I know that there have been several times where I have passed a stranger walking down the street and they are taken back by my friendly hello… Why does it have to be that way? Why can’t everyone say hello?

A perfect example of this would be at my school, Wilkes University. We have this cafe’ called Rifkin, and it is where everyone makes there quick stops for food in between classes. At the cash register where we swipe our ideas, there are the usual ladies working.

My freshman year I heard so many things like, “Oh they are crabby” and “Wow they hate their job”, but in reality they were and are the sweetest ladies. First day of classes I went right up to them with a huge smile on my face…and you know what happened? They smiled right back! They told me I had a beautiful smile, and that “people like me were why they worked there”. I didn’t even ask them how they were yet…

These women have grown to be my buddies throughout the years, but I would have never known how wonderful they were if I didn’t show them the kindness that they deserved.

I guess what I am trying to say is, give people a chance. Start a conversation. Smile.

It may surprise you who smiles back.

Leave a Reply

