10th Random Act of Kindness

DC Sail Club
Image 14

Well,  talk about random…

We set out to have a day of walking the monuments of Washington DC spending time with my daughter Jessica, her fiancé Matt and my husband David and of course looking for “random acts of kindness”. I have become a little obsessed with this whole challenge.

One thing about me is,  if I sign on to do something, it is 110% on my mind.  All the time.

I am looking everywhere asking my family what we should do. I say, “maybe I can take a picture for someone” and everyone says, “that’s really not so random”.  Jessica says, “it will just happen Mom when you least expect it”. I had all but given up and we set out for dinner for Cantina Marina which is in the DC wharf.

The band was playing, the sun was setting and I am HUNGRY. It was the perfect night for a margarita with a warm wind blowing overlooking the Potomac River.  We had walked for quite a while and we were all starving and truthfully I just wanted to sit down and relax. We walked down this narrow walkway to the back of this marina and the gentleman was sitting at the entrance on a stool and puts his hand out. I looked at him inquisitively and then realized he was carding me. I have not been to a bar in a long time nor have I been carded. I’m 47 and started to laugh. I said “do I not look 21?” He looks at me with a bright smile and says “no”!  Oh, I’m thinking I like you-alot…  We just wanted dinner and he says in his funny little voice, “Ma’am, we are having a fundraiser tonight and it will be $40 a person. That includes a buffet and 4 drink tickets. So we all say ok, we are in, let’s go and have some fun.

The bank was playing “brown-eyed girl” by Van Morrison and I knew it was going to be a fun night. We were walking down this ramp to get to the restaurant and outside bar with decks everywhere and they had set up a place for raffle tickets to raise money and of course I give them my money. I love to win anything. So competitive with everything. Even raffle tickets.

Image 8

We head for the bar with our wrist ban which has these tear off pieces you give to the bartender each time you order a drink. So we all tear off the ticket. We all get margaritas which I just love once a Summer. Alcohol and I do not mix. It just makes me loopier than I already am. Heck, I am drunk without being drunk all the time. But in a good way.  We head to the buffet, grab a table on the deck and just sit and listen to music, talking about our day. By the end of my drink I am standing, singing and having a grand time.  We had a few drink lefts and we just gave them to the people next to us. They were certainly happy. I’m sure they thought that was random.

Image 6

I have just recently been introduced to sailing last month while visiting my sister Shelly. We went out on a friends Olympic Sailing Boat which I sailed all by myself for two hours. I loved it so much I asked if I could be part of their sailing team and of course Shelly broke out into a belly laugh because she knew I was serious.

I would have to say that Jessica is right, “random acts of kindness” just happen.

Image 15

Just let it find you.

Leave a Reply

